top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCassandra Kidwell

My "Top Four No Skip" Picks

Yet another Instagram trend ran through our feeds last week: “Four Albums No Skip” lets users place four album covers using an online generator onto a picture of Bill Clinton listening to music. This tasked listeners to pick the top four albums they would listen all the way through.


You can even create your own at "Billclintonswag.com" created by Twitter user Thomas Miller @thmsmlr.


1. "Wish You Were Here" - Pink Floyd

Since this trend calls for albums that you must listen all the way through, this is certainly first on my list. While only 5 songs long, this album still tells the story of their drummer Syd Barrett as he battled with schizophrenia and mental illness. Pink Floyd used this album as an ode to his tragic fate through 13 minute instrumental based songs and one of their most popular hits “Wish You Were Here.” Like many, I have a special spot for this song and album, and often listen all the way through.


2. "Hozier" - Hozier

If there is someone deserving enough to name his album after himself, it's the Irish-angelic singer Hozier. I have been listening to this album for 6 years straight now, and these songs just do not get old. This past summer I got to see him perform these songs live and it was truly life-changing. I felt like I was crossing realities finally hearing “Jackie and Wilson” and “Someone New,” not through my iPhone. I am so happy that his “Take Me To Church” hit brought me to Hozier as even his sad songs somehow makes me have a happy pit in my stomach.


3. "Kids See Ghosts" - Kids See Ghosts

I could not choose between the Kayne and Kid Cudi albums that I love, so I decided to put this album that features them both. For many Kayne and Kid Cudi fans, this album resembles the two coming out about their inner-demons and how they overcome them. From feelings of depression from Cudi and Kayne’s bipolar disorder, they let all emotions out. The song “Reborn,” is the ultimate anthem for those overcoming demons and has topped my most-listened to list for awhile.


4. "Circles" - Mac Miller

Okay, I know this album has only been out for a few months, but I have been listening to it non-stop so it's a pretty fresh choice for my no-skip albums. Even though his change in style to a slower, more jazzy tune Mac Miller has a way with lyricism. In “Circles,” as well as his similar album “Swimming” Mac was able to unveil his feelings to the world that gave me a greater appreciation for his music since my junior high rap discoveries. Circles was the perfect gift to his fans after his death and I'm so grateful I am able to give my continuous listens.

10 views0 comments
Join my mailing list

Thanks for submitting!

© 2020 by Cassandra Kidwell. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page