top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCassandra Kidwell

The 10 Best Rap Songs That Use Soul Samples Part 1

Updated: Mar 29, 2020

I almost immediately love any rap, RnB song with a soul sample. I don't know exactly when this obsession started, but I do know that Kanye West, possibly the king of using samples, has been my top-streamed artist for years.


Sampling from other songs has become as common as making beats from scratch for todays rappers. Not only does it sell and create great choruses, but there is something beautiful about hard lyricism on top of pleasingly sang vocals.


Now, I couldn't decide whether I wanted to make this a list of songs that sample older song (like in "Otis by Jay Z and Kanye), or soul samples so I'm going to have to make this a two-parter.


But for now here's my list of the best songs with soul samples:


International Player's Anthem - Underground Kingz ft. Outkast

When I heard the beat drop after Andre 3000's verse about resigning as a player, I was blown away. I literally wanted to walk down the aisle to this song because of its soulful, wedding samples in the background. I don't know how my Christian family would feel about that but hey, no one can deny the power of this song.


I'm typically opposed to remixes, but I do think the Swishahouse remix also brought a killer rendition with a stronger base-drop in their version.

Fast forward around 10 years and we find the new influx of gospel-rap. Thanks Kanye and Lil Wayne.


Ultralight Beam - Kanye West

While this song does give soul samples, it's most known for the sample of a little girl preaching in the car. Yes, it turns out the famous, "we don't want no devils in the HOUSE tonight my Lord," is actually from a semi-famous 4 year old preacher under the handle "sheisnatalie."


Verse by verse this song solidifies itself as one of the best sampled songs. Chance the Rapper shows his capabilities in his ascendent verse, bringing his skills in lyricism that were seen also on his first album Acid Rap.


This song, almost an entire sermon, showcases so many elements of sampling and soul-rap. Chance's verses takes you through his religious background, and joyous preaches that make this an uplifting song through praise.


A lot - 21 Savage

"I love youuuu//for so many reason," 21 Savage's hit starts with the East of Underground's 1971 hit "I love you." This track serves as a basis of the musical layout of this song and perfectly shows how important a melodic background/chorus can make a rap song.


21 Savage's lines aren't the most thoughtful or impactful, I mean half the words in this song are "a lot," but that doesn't mean this catchy soul-rap hit isn't great.


Oodles O’ Noodles Babies - Meek Mill

Off his most recent 2018 release, Meek Mill recalls his hardships over a sample from “Love Changes” by Mother’s Finest. Mill made this rap dedicated to the nights of ramen noodles for low-income families, which now taste like sweet nostalgia to Mill after his success.


I just enjoy how vulnerable and poetic Mill is in this song. It also helps that "Love Changes," is an amazing background track throughout. In college right now, I surely feel like an "Oodles and Noodles baby."


DUCKWORTH. - Kendrick Lamar

My favorite song from this 2016 album and I now get why. "DUCKWORTH." is interesting, pleasing and adds aspects of beautiful and sometimes ugly, yet interesting vocals to create this song.


Ted Taylor's "Be Ever Wonderful," is the main sample in this song, seen in the vocal track in the beginning:



Then starts Lamar's first verse and story of how Anthony “Top Dawg” Tiffith was planning a second robbery at a local KFC where Kendrick’s father, nicknamed “Ducky,” was working in the ‘90s. Lamar uses 6 other samples to make this creation. This is on my list for its consistent melodic "ooo's" in the backtrack.


I Don't F*** With You - Big Sean (kind of)

Outro>whole song. I love this song as much as any other person did in 2015 — now I would say its fine stricly in my throwback playlist. The transition to the outro in this song sounds better than the whole song together.


Big Sean's IDFWU uses a sample of D.J. Roger's 1976 song "Say You Love Me, One More Time." The almost whiny, soulful voice of D.J. Roger alongside the choir makes this one of the best sampled songs.


Give this a listen, some genius combined the intro and outdo of this song in 1 minute of pure bliss

Devil In A New Dress - Kanye West ft. Rick Ross

This song is also one of my all-time favorites of Kanye, topped with a superb verse from Rick Ross, and you can't say that about many Rick Ross verses.


The song loops Smokey Robinson's slow jam recording "Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow," throughout all verses. "Devil In A New Dress" is a stand-out feature in his album that uses the most samples out of maybe any, "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy."


Bound 2 - Kanye West

I really can't stop. Seriously, Kanye just shows his ear for sampling again and again. This Kanye song was one of my first favorites of him (when I wasn't young and strictly listening to Stronger and Gold Digger).


Similar to "International Players Anthem," "Devil In A New Dress" and more is soul's ability to show love. Bound is assumably Kanye's love letter to Kim Kardashian, the chorus soulfully sang:


"Bound (Bound to fall in love) Bound (Bound to fall in love)


"Bound 2" incorporates samples from "Bound" by Ponderosa Twins Plus One and the line "Uh-huh, honey" from Brenda Lee's "Sweet Nothin's."


I'll Be There For You/You're All I Need To Get By - Method Man and Mary J Blidge

I just really love this song because "You're All I Need To Get By" is one of my all-time favorite feel-good soul songs. Method Man, member of the Wu Tan Clan, released this with vocals from Mary J Blidge of one of the best soul songs in my opinion.


The combination of his rap and her chorus and background vocals works perfectly to show one of the first soul-rap hits.


Emotionless - Drake

This song keeps a pure soul sample throughout, and I love it. It really shows that Drake can (actually) rap and I think one of his best from "Scorpion."


This soulful song acknowledges the existence of his child, Adonis.



With a sample of Mariah Carey’s 1991 song “Emotions," the song left Carey's voice to do the work, using her powerful voice as the chorus and continuing vocals throughout Drake's verses.


If you want to hear more songs with great samples, follow my Spotify playlist:


26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page